RSS Feed

Where did my social life go?

Posted on

One thing that I struggle with is prioritizing my time, and I have learned that time prioritization is key to surviving a full time work week + MBA classes.

Another thing that I have learned is that my social life needs to take a back seat during this stage of my life.  My friends say on a consistent basis, “I hate that you’re in school!” after I say something along the lines of, “I can’t, I have class” or “I have a test I need to study for” etc etc.

I suppose if I learn to prioritize my time, I may be able to have my cake and eat it too.  Below are 4 things that I have identified could help me find my social life:

  1. Don’t procrastinate – I always procrastinate my homework assignments and tend to cancel plans occasionally because “My homework isn’t done yet.”  If I don’t procrastinate, I’m sure my stress level would decrease and my social life could potentially increase!
  2. Don’t skip the gym – I tend to skip the gym because the last thing I want to do after work on a day I don’t have class is go to the gym.  No – I want to go home, throw on some pajamas, and be in bed by 8:30pm.  Truth is, if I didn’t cancel my gym plans, I’d probably sleep better and not have to enforce an 8:30-9:00 bed time.  If I sleep better, I won’t be spending all of my spare time trying to catch up on rest – I’d be able to socialize 🙂
  3. Make plans, and stick to them – When I make plans with my friends, I always insert my “tentative” plug-in just in case I have to cancel.  “Okay, let’s tentatively plan for Wednesday and I’ll let you know if I need to move it.”  Typically – I move the date.  Bad bad bad!  My friends all completely understand, but this still makes me feel like a bad friend.  I need to make plans, and have the intentions to stick to them.
  4. Plan out the week – I’m known for being over “anal” about making plans.  I don’t like “play it by ear” plans – I need concrete details and specifics!  So it baffles me why I don’t plan my week ahead of time.  By doing this, I can efficiently allocate my time to work, then school, then friends and family.  I like it.

Photo Credit

8 responses »

  1. I love this blog post! I am always so stressed because I feel like I have no time to do anything. I agree with everything you have listed and I especially need to work on #1 – I’m the worst at procrastination!!

    Reply
    • Sumiko- I’m glad you liked my post! I think some people can manage their work-life balance really well, and I need to learn from these people because, like you pointed out, it actually adds to the stress by not having any time to do anything!
      Thank you for the comment, Sumiko!

      Reply
  2. Nice article Ashley, I need to not skip the gym as often, that’s for sure!
    -Cole
    colevoors.wordpress.com

    Reply
  3. Very solid points and I think us MBA students feel your pain and can relate to not having a social life, so at least you’re not alone. 🙂 I just wish there was a way to address procrastination, o wait, there is: just don’t do it. Of course that’s easier said than done.
    Great post Ashley!

    Reply
  4. HI Ashley,
    It is fun to read you blog and find you are having a good response to your article.
    I believe you are on the right track. Focus on ‘now’ and getting your MBA. Procrastination is a terrible problem. I know from experience when I was in school. Then found doing the hardest thing first made the rest of the chores much easier. Keep having fun at the gym. Bev

    Reply
    • Hello Beverly! Thank you for the comment – I do believe that getting my MBA is priority in my life right now, and I think that when it’s over I will be more than glad that I pushed through it. You are very insightful – doing the toughest chore first is a very good piece of advice!! I will remember that.

      Thank you again! Hope all is well!
      Ashley

      Reply

Leave a Reply

