RSS Feed

My Biggest Weakness

Posted on

After writing my last post about Jimmy Johns and their ability to efficiently make a sandwich, I thought I would elaborate why – to me – this is a big deal.

My biggest weakness is always being too early

This is how paranoid I am...

I know this sounds crazy, and like I’m completely full of myself, but let me explain why this is my biggest weakness:

I am PARANOID about being late to the point where I lack efficiency in my daily routines.  I spend more time in my car “waiting” because I was accidentally an hour early again.

This is why I hate waiting additional longer than I have to!  If you say you’ll meet me at a certain time and you’re 10 minutes late, that is an hour and 10 minutes I have been waiting.

So the reasons this is my weakness:

  1. With the hour I spend waiting in my car, I could be doing something productive
  2. Prior to leaving, I am so paranoid I’ll be late that I forget those last minute “Turn off the lights” and “Lock the door” simple tasks
  3. I stress myself out more than I have to
  4. When others are consistently late, I can’t wrap my head around why they can’t be early/on-time like me.  I then think they associate less value to the time I am giving them.

What I have done to make this a strength

  1. Keep a book handy:  I always keep a book or homework in my car.  That way, when I’m an hour early sitting in a parking lot looking like a total creeper, I can actually get something done aside from listening to the radio or watching the clock.
  2. Small Steps:  I take a small steps to prevent being an hour early.  Each day I may leave 5 minutes later than usual.  It helps calm my “OH-MY-GOSH-I-CAN’T-BE-LATE” feeling when I still show up on-time (and early, of course).
  3. Account for those who are always late: When I am meeting a friend or family member (coughMOMcough) who is typically late, I’ll leave at our meeting time.  So if we are supposed to meet at 1, I’ll leave at 1 because they’ll be that late anyway (depending on the person).  This way I’m not waiting which means I won’t be irritated.
  4. Call Ahead: When I’m meeting with someone I work with or a friend who is never on time, I’ll call them first to say, “I’m heading out now!”  That way if they indicate they’re still in a meeting or just hopping out of the shower, I know I can leave a little later rather than do my typical wait-in-the-parking-lot behavior.

I was told when I was younger the common quote:

“If you are 5 minutes early, you’re on time. If you’re on time, you’re late. If you’re late, then you’ve got a lot of explaining to do.”

I think I took it to heart a little more than I should have.

8 responses »

  1. I loved this. I was chuckling the whole way through because I can relate. I hate being late, so much so that I get stressed out whenever I am running late. However that does not stop me from constantly underestimating the time it takes to get ready/get to a commitment.

    1 suggestion on your alarm descriptions, use CAPITAL letters sometimes; that way you really feel like you are yelling at yourself to get up and get moving. haha. That’s what I do anyway, and it works 60% of the time – all the time. 🙂

    -RJ

    Reply
    • haha I am glad you enjoyed it, RJ! I’m glad I’m not the only paranoid-to-be-late person out there 🙂 Capital letters WOULD be good! I’ll have to update my alarms tonight.

      Reply
  2. I love your bloggys.

    Reply
  3. Great post, Ashley. I could hear you talking as I read it. Good writing!

    Reply
  4. Great Article Ashley. I have to admit that I am usually a little early to arrive for events, so I can relate to the need to be productive while waiting. Great advice.
    Mike

    Reply

Leave a Reply

