RSS Feed

A little goes a long way

Posted on

For the past couple of weeks I have been reading a lovely little book called The Power of Small by Linda Kaplan Thaler and Robin Koval.

I am constantly dwelling on “the small things” possibly a little too much, so I chose to purchase this book to support my dwelling-on-little-things mentality.  I also was hoping that the book would provide some subtle communication tips (either verbal or nonverbal).

I LOVED this book and already have a list of people to lend it to.  It really gave me a different perspective on how a small gesture/random act of kindness can really go a long way.  What I really liked about this book was the surplus of examples provided to depict the picture the author is trying to paint.  I am an examples kind of person, so it helped to understand exactly what the author was trying to explain.  LOVE examples!

The tone of the book is almost informal – the point is simply to explain the idea and supplement that idea with a corresponding example or two.  Mission accomplished.  From small concepts such as simply writing a Thank You note to how a new hair cut could potentially affect the future of your career, there are mini-stories galore to inspire anyone.  I can’t wait for my friends and family to read this book – I think anyone and everyone could benefit from the advice provided to improve our work quality and attitude toward others.

6 responses »

  1. Book reviews are great!

    Reply
  2. Sounds like a good book! And sounds like a book I need to read too – I think I’ll pick it up next time I’m at the bookstore or on Amazon…thanks for the recommendation Ashley!

    Reply
  3. HI Ashley, I read all your blogs and really find them interesting. You have a good way of presenting your subjects well.
    I will look for this book on Amazon.
    Bev

    Reply

Leave a Reply

