RSS Feed

Avoid burnout within the workplace

Posted on

From my last post, I thought it would be a good idea to elaborate on burnout in the workplace.

According to helpguide.org, burnout occurs when “you feel overwhelmed and unable to meet constant demands. As the stress continues, you begin to lose the interest or motivation that led you to take on a certain role in the first place. ”

Basically – burnout is stress on steroids.  We all get stressed at work or in school – it’s inevitable.  What distinguishes burnout from stress is that burnout can be a result from prolonged stressed.  It occurs when EVERY day is a bad day.

Some causes of burnout include:

  • Feeling like you have little or no control over your work.
  • Lack of recognition or rewards for good work.
  • Unclear or overly demanding job expectations.
  • Doing work that’s monotonous or unchallenging.
  • Working in a chaotic or high-pressure environment
  • Working too much, without enough time for relaxing and socializing
  • Being expected to be too many things to too many people.
  • Taking on too many responsibilities, without enough help from others
  • Not getting enough sleep
  • Lack of close, supportive relationships

It is important to recognize burnout as soon as possible.  Look for the signs and be proactive to preventing burnout from continuing.  You need to

SLOW DOWN

GET SUPPORT

REEVALUATE GOALS AND PRIORITIES

As always, it is recommended to take time off to recuperate.  Companies provide time off for a reason – use it.

Thank you to the following website(s) for content:

HelpGuide.org

Photo Credit

5 responses »

  1. Sounds like I need to take some time off! I pretty much had a burnout meltdown today. Good thing the weekend is here, so I can relax and take it off my mind for a couple days.

    Reply
  2. I have always found that after anything stressful I need to “unplug” for at least 2-3 hours when I come home. Lately, I’ve been spending 12-18 hours a day at the hospital where my girlfriend has been for the last 9 weeks. It’s flat out exhausting to begin with, plus frustrating that I am having to put my life/work on hold and have been unable to get anything appreciable accomplished in that time.

    When I do come home I have to unwind which for me can be anything from cooking a nice dinner, watching a movie, or simply going for a topless drive (the car topless… not me!) If I don’t do these things and fully decompress the frustration and stress will quickly overtake things and I’ll have my own version of a meltdown.

    The key I find in terms of work related stress has a lot to do with your overall attitude. More importantly the key lies first in identifying the areas/situations that cause your issues/stress. Deal with and do your best to work around the areas where you falter on a daily basis, and you will cut down on the PTO you have to use.

    Then again I’m all for using some of that PTO and having a little fun! After all, what’s the point of having money if you never use it to go ro do anything?!

    Life’s a journey not a race. Enjoy it! 😉

    Reply
    • I think it is great advice to recommend addressing the issue of stress as opposed to only relying on PTO – you bring up a very good point. Occasionally, having the time to unwind after work is not an option and I think that (for me) is what contributes to potential meltdown. It’s never fun feeling stressed to the point of burn out though! I wish you the best of luck with your girlfriend!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Settle for a Slowdown « Professional Diversification

Leave a Reply

