RSS Feed

My Personal Branding class is over, but my blog isn’t

Posted on

As some of you may be aware, this blog was started for my Personal Branding MBA class at the University of Nevada.  The purpose of the course was to to create a professional brand through social media (WordPress, Twitter, Facebook, etc.).

Now that the semester is over, that also means that this blog is no longer required.  However I LOVE blogging.  I’ve had a hard time juggling my personal bloggy and this professional blog, however I feel that this blog can help me develop myself professionally by forcing me to be aware of what I put online and how I advertise myself.

With that being said – my blog will continue.  I love this blog and I have connected with several people because of my professional online presence.

So to future employers – if you ever decide to google me, this is what you will find:

  • I was an Information Systems Major at the University of Nevada
  • I’m pursuing my MBA from UNR
  • I rock climb
  • I’m girly
  • I was in a sorority (KAPPA ALPHA THETA) and I am very proud of it
  • I love my family
  • I love my friends
  • I’m a very happy person

And if you dig deep enough you’ll find the juice:

  • I ran a half marathon when I was 13 years old
  • I was adopted
  • I have several siblings
  • I hate mushy food

So I am proud to say that my online presence is not unprofessional and accurately portrays the person I am.

2 responses »

  1. Nicely put, Ashley. And a nice synopsis of what you’re doing, who you are, and what you want the blog (and your other Soc-M activities) to accomplish.

    I was unavoidably unable to do much of anything online starting almost right after the end of the semester.

    And, a few people actually noticed; when I was able to reactivate my “social” life yesterday, I was surprised to find that my silly and all-over-the-map blog posts were missed!

    So, even though I have a ton of stuff with which to catch up, I feel I own it to them to keep blogging.

    Besides, like you, when a potential employer goes Googling for me (sounds kind’a kinky, doesn’t it?) he’ll find more than a post that’s seven year’s stale.

    Keep at it, kid!

    Reply
    • Hey thank you Roger! And you have put so much work and effort into your blog I don’t think you should give it up any time soon at all! I think after the Branding class we all wanted a break (I just can’t take a break b/c I’m taking the summer school course).

      Reply

Leave a Reply

