RSS Feed

Avoid Career Tunnel Vision

Posted on

If there is any advice I could provide to a student just entering college, my advice would be to have options.  Stay open-minded.  Look for opportunities.  This has been a topic that I have been seeing a lot lately, so I thought it would also be a good post.

When my internship ended, I truly thought it was the end of the world.  My current company didn’t really have any “entry level” type of positions open so I was forced to look elsewhere.  This turned out to be a blessing in disguise because I was able to apply for a job that was outside of my comfort zone.  The qualifications were high, my experience was minimal, but the job description was enticing.  So I applied.

I would never have applied if I wasn’t forced to.

With that being said, I would tell any young professional or college student to keep their options open.  Just because the job you have right now may be comfortable, it is VITAL to push your limits and challenge yourself.  Step outside of your comfort zone.  You will never achieve goals if you don’t try new things.

This is apparent with most college students.  We go into college determined to be a journalist and somehow wind up with a business degree instead.  However just because you have this business degree doesn’t mean you’re forced to be a businessman/woman for the rest of your life.  You may decide in 2, 5, 10 years that Social Work is your passion.  Or perhaps Nursing School.

But either way, YOU HAVE OPTIONS.  Keep this in mind.  Do not succumb to career tunnel vision.  You may miss potential opportunities that are outside of your focus.

Photo Credit

5 responses »

  1. I know this too well. I originally went to Film School with dreams of winning the Oscar for Best Director. Then, I started substitute teaching and before I knew, I was hooked.

    I served a year with AmeriCorps. I worked for GEAR UP for 2 years. Since then I’ve earned a second bachelor’s in Child and Family Studies, a master’s in Professional Studies in Education and I am currently working on a Doctorate in Educational Leadership and Management.

    I still plan to use that Film degree one day. Only I plan to direct education-focused documentaries.

    Reply
    • Wow talk about total 180! From film school to education. I think we all have passions in life, but I think we also have hidden passions that we won’t discover until we start trying new things. If we succumb to tunnel vision, we’ll never try new things and let our hidden passions go to waste. I think education is a fascinating field with so many different directions to take.

      Reply
      • Yes, it is. There is always the possibility of me leading a film academy for young people or becoming the multimedia director for an education-focused company. I don’t know what the future holds. What I am doing now is preparing myself academically and taking on numerous professional challenges – as I am currently a social media strategist.

        Only time and the opportunities available will chart my path. Whatever happens, I will be open to the possibilities.

  2. Ashley, you make some excellent points here. Ultimately, you always need to keep your options open. I’m a former retail manager turned student and social media intern. I look forward to reading more of your blog postings. Keep up the good work!

    Matthew Forrest
    Social Media Marketing Intern
    YouTern

    Reply
    • Thank you for the comment!! I’m glad you liked the post – it definitely is crazy the different paths we can take as long as we don’t limit ourselves 🙂 Thank you for visiting my blog!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

