RSS Feed

Grammar Mistakes

Posted on

One of my several pet peeves is when people use the wrong form of a word.

I’m no grammar queen.  When it comes to prepositional phrases, imperative sentences, and comma usage – I’m not perfect.  But I do expect others who are 16+ to have a basic understanding of “which word to use.”

In the past hour that I have been browsing Facebook, Twitter, and blog posts, I have found SEVERAL elementary mistakes from friends/acquaintances who have graduated from college.  These are some of the mistakes I have found:

Your vs You’re

I was reading a blog post from someone I took an MBA course with, and came across the word “your” when it should have been “you’re.”  I gave him the benefit of the doubt, thinking it could very well have been an oversight.  Lo and behold, 3 more times in the same blog post was “your” instead of “you’re.”  English 101 anyone?

To vs. Till

This is a HUGE pet peeve of mine!  I was on facebook and saw a girl post “15 days to the rodeo!”  15 days where?  OH I suppose you mean “15 days until the Rodeo!”

Accept vs Except

If English is your second language – I’ll let this one slide.  Otherwise these should never be used interchangeably.  I saw this error on Twitter from someone who received their undergrad degree in Business Administration.

Photo Credit

 

3 responses »

  1. SO annoying. I completely understand.

    Reply
  2. Fantastic website. A lot of useful information here. I’m sending it to a few pals ans also sharing in delicious. And naturally, thank you in your sweat! ddedfgggaedg

    Reply

Leave a Reply

