RSS Feed

Part 1: Enable HTTPS for your Facebook!

Posted on

So tonight was embarrassing.

I am OVERLY paranoid about keeping my accounts secure.  My passwords are insane and my privacy settings tend to be high.  When I first found out that twitter offered a secure connection, I enabled it as quickly as possible!

Tonight, however, I realized that my Facebook account has been without HTTPS.  I am CERTAIN I enabled this feature, but regardless it was disabled and an entire class saw my HTTP NOT followed by an “S.”  For me- this is embarrassing.

First thing I did when I got home was change my facebook to enable HTTPS.

For those that don’t know – that little “S” that follows the HTTP means “Secure.”  What this means is that the communication on the network through the webpage is encrypted which makes hacking more difficult (but not impossible).  In a nutshell – use HTTPS as possible as you can.  ESPECIALLY when making an online transaction.

Anyhow, here is the skinny on how to make sure YOUR facebook is secure.

1.  Login to your account

2.  Click on “Account Settings” in the top right hand corner


3.  Choose “Account Security”

4.  Make sure the “Browse Facebook on a secure connection (HTTPS) whenever possible” checkbox is checked!


One response »

  1. Pingback: Part 2: Enable HTTPS for your Twitter! « Ashley Cray

Leave a Reply

